This Year’s LVMH Prize Semi-Finalists Have Just Been Announced

Each year the LVMH prize nominees are a big who’s who of what’s hot. Just take a look at the below list of nominees. Sizzlin’. As far as fashion prizes go, this one’s the big one, with the winner scooping up a whopping €300,000, a year’s worth of mentorship and of course, the global esteem that comes with winning such a prestigious competition. And, as if all that wasn’t enough, this year’s competition comes with a zesty twist too, with organisers asking nominees to specify what steps they are taking to ensure their practices are sustainable- the major fashion buzz word of 2018 (infinitely better than ‘normcore’).

Yesterday, the twenty designers to make the competition’s semi-final were announced, a typically diverse list, including London Fashion Week favourites Marta Jakubowski, Charles Jeffrey LOVERBOY and Faustine Steinmetz, as well as Antwerp graduate duo Rushemy Botter and Lissi Herrebrugh, Edda Gimnes and Magda Butrym. Making their first appearance on the nominee list are Eckhaus Latta, Ludovic de Saint Sernin and A COLD WALL*. With the finalists being announced in June, via a superstar panel of judges including Karl Lagerfeld, Nicolas Ghesquière, Marc Jacobs, Maria Grazia Chiuri and JW Anderson, we can barely wait to see who will join the likes of Grace Wales Bonner and Marques’ Almeida as winners of the brilliant prize. See below for the comprehensive list of semi-finalists.

Samuel Ross – A-COLD-WALL*

Akiko Aoki – Akikoaoki

Rushemy Botter & Lisi Herrebrugh – Botter

Charles Jeffrey – Charles Jeffrey Loverboy

Masayuki Ino – Doublet

Zoe Latta & Mike Eckhaus – Eckhaus Latta

Edda Gimnes – Edda

Reid Baker & Ines Amorim – Ernest W Baker

Faustine Steinmetz – Faustine Steinmetz

Serhat Isik & Benjamin Huseby – GmbH

Lea Dickley & Hung La – Kwaidan Editions

Ludovic De Saint Sernin – Ludovic De Saint Sernin

Magdalena Butrym – Magda Butrym

Marta Jakubowski – Marta Jakubowski

Matthew Adams Dolan – Matthew Adams Dolan

Neil Grotzinger – Nihl

Cosima Gadient & Christa Bösch – Ottolinger

Rok Hwang – Rokh

Snow Gao – Snow Xue Gao

Younchan Chung – The Sirius

Photograph by Jason Lloyd Evans at Marta Jakubowski AW18