Friday 24th March

| BY Finn Blythe

The 2017 CFDA Awards Nominees Have Been Announced


An even happier Friday comes courtesy of the middle-of-the-night announcement of this year’s talented crop of designers who are nominated for a CFDA awards. Very excited to hear that Raf Simons, after just a single show for Calvin Klein, finds himself in line for a potential double scoop after being nommed for both mens and womenswear Designer of the Year, whilst Demna Gvasalia is not just nominated, but already wins, the International Award. Congrats! Other highlights include Rick Owens receiving the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award and the lovely Stuart Vevers of Coach nominated as Accessories Designer of the Year. All the nominees were announced by CFDA chairwoman and all-round fabulous lady, Diane von Furstenberg, who also revealed that this years awards would take place on the 5th of June. Promptly clearing our diaries. Here’s the full list…

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra
Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Marc Jacobs
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year

Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Robert Geller
Thom Browne
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder

Accessories Designer of the Year

Stuart Vevers, Coach
Irene Neuwirth
Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel
Paul Andrew
Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent

Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock, Brock Collection
Gabriela Hearst
Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia, Monse
Virgil Abloh, Off-White
Sander Lak, Sies Marjan

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Rick Owens

The Founders Award

Pat McGrath

The International Award

Demna Gvasalia

The Board of Directors Tribute

Cecile Richards
Gloria Steinem
Janelle Monae

The Fashion Icon Award

Franca Sozzani

Swarovski Award for Positive Change

Kenneth Cole